ImageMagick

Get answers here.

Moderators: BBear, theunknownhost, flaguy

Post Reply
User avatar
GoMoxie
Nothing better to do.
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 4:32 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

ImageMagick

Post by GoMoxie » Tue May 13, 2003 7:23 pm

Is ImageMagick installed on our servers? If so, can someone tell me the path... something like /usr/bin/X11/ I would guess...
improve your image and increase your visibility!
go moxie (.net) provides outstanding logo, print and website design
visit us online: http://gomoxie.net

User avatar
theunknownhost
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 2713
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 1:05 pm

No

Post by theunknownhost » Tue May 13, 2003 8:22 pm

No, it is not you would either have to install it server-wide or do individual client installs.

User avatar
GoMoxie
Nothing better to do.
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 4:32 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Post by GoMoxie » Tue May 13, 2003 8:25 pm

Thanks for the quick reply! Got it... will go with a server-wide install..
improve your image and increase your visibility!
go moxie (.net) provides outstanding logo, print and website design
visit us online: http://gomoxie.net

User avatar
nada
Propeller head licensee
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 2:33 pm
Location: Cyprus, Lebanon, Nigeria

ImageMagick

Post by nada » Thu Nov 06, 2003 8:10 am

Hello

Can someone tell me how to install ImageMagick on an individual account?

THank you

Nada
Rami El-Zein
admin@practicalhost.com
PracticalHost.com

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Post by Arf » Thu Nov 06, 2003 2:01 pm

Good question. I'd like to know this as well.

User avatar
IdaWebCo
Propeller head licensee
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:13 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho

Guidance Please

Post by IdaWebCo » Tue Jan 06, 2004 1:45 am

I also would like to have Imagik on my server. Is that something that Alabanza would install for me? I don't know how to install applications to my server and am affraid I would mess something up.

There is some install info on http://imagemagick.org/

Any advise on how I might get this installled or on who might do it for me?

Richard
Idaho Web Compay

hortoni
Nothing better to do.
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:06 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Post by hortoni » Sun Jan 11, 2004 4:02 am

We had a dedicated server client that wanted to install ImageMagick. All I can say is DON'T DO IT!!!!

It modified a number of perl system files and caused weeks of bizarre problems with email, control panel, etc. The only way to fix it was to have tech support do a complete server rebuild. We were never able to get it working properly anyway.

Just my .02 but I'll never let another customer try to install it!

sixpackmx
Hard Drive Crasher
Posts: 640
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 9:44 am
Location: Mexico City, Mexico

Post by sixpackmx » Sun Jan 11, 2004 5:12 am

It can be installed safely using binary distribution, just untar the file and all ready!

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Post by Arf » Mon Jan 12, 2004 6:00 pm

Six,
I'm such a loser when it comes to this stuff. I'd need a little more hand holding. You might want to answer in the private forums because I don't know if I'd want the instruction shown publically.

I wonder about things like, Untar it where? Ready for what? It just magically works when you untar it? Is there a command to enter after that? What damage can it cause?

Steele
Professional Chicken Dancer
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu May 15, 2003 4:20 pm

Post by Steele » Wed Jan 28, 2004 6:58 pm


User avatar
crashdump
Hard Drive Crasher
Posts: 950
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 5:44 pm
Location: Virginia

Post by crashdump » Thu May 13, 2004 11:35 am

I am trying to install ImageMagick to a user's account (not serverwide).

I have followed the instructions at http://www.imagemagick.org/www/QuickStart.html exactly.

when ever I try to use it now, I get the following error:

convert: /lib/i686/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.3' not found (required by /home/myuser/ImageMagick/lib/libMagick.so.6)
convert: /lib/i686/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.3' not found (required by /home/myuser/ImageMagick/lib/libWand.so.6)


An example command which generates this error is:

Code: Select all

convert screenshot.jpg -thumbnail 250X90 height.gif


I was hoping to be able to install this without dealing with serverwide library issues. Has anyone else run into this and found a solution?

thanks

pwh17
Professional Chicken Dancer
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:38 pm
Location: Illinois

ImageMagick Update?

Post by pwh17 » Sat Jan 07, 2006 8:54 pm

I have a customer that has installed the CopperMine Photo Gallery (coppermine-gallery.net) and is requesting ImageMagick. I have another customer (a photography club) that might benefit also so I'm considering a server-wide install.

It has been a while since the last post to this discussion, and I'm wondering if anyone has installed ImageMagick recently and can provide some advice.

User avatar
datazen
Hosting Superstar
Posts: 1084
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:20 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Post by datazen » Sat Jan 07, 2006 9:54 pm

We have ImageMagick and our own install of Coppermine on our servers. Been working for years with no problems. Just ask your AM to have ImageMagick installed on your servers. :wink:
Michael
http://www.webdomains4u.com
<i>Nothing is really work unless you would rather be doing something else.</i>

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Re: Guidance Please

Post by Arf » Sun Jan 08, 2006 9:11 pm

IdaWebCo wrote:I also would like to have Imagik on my server. Is that something that Alabanza would install for me?

Richard,
I had Alabanza install it twice. Worked fine. They basicially untarred a file and installed it. No problems were created when they did. There was no charge for this service but you have to keep in mind that they're not really supporting it.

pwh17
Professional Chicken Dancer
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:38 pm
Location: Illinois

ImageMagick Version

Post by pwh17 » Mon Jan 09, 2006 12:17 am

The current releases of ImageMagick claim to be for Fedora Core 4. What software version are you using?

Did you have to FTP the tar file to the server or does Alabanza have a "known good" version they will install?

I'd like to have all the right specifications and/or software for Alabanza support when I make the installation request.

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Re: ImageMagick Version

Post by Arf » Mon Jan 09, 2006 1:24 pm

pwh17 wrote:The current releases of ImageMagick claim to be for Fedora Core 4. What software version are you using?

Did you have to FTP the tar file to the server or does Alabanza have a "known good" version they will install?

I'd like to have all the right specifications and/or software for Alabanza support when I make the installation request.


If you're questions are to me...
1) I doubt they will install the most current version.
2) I didn't do anything. Alabanza did. I suspect is was a known good version or they wouldn't have installed it.

Caygill
Nothing better to do.
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 3:20 pm

Post by Caygill » Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:17 pm

Ok, I had installed myself IM earlier server-wide, but due to some serious vulnerabilities recently found in the release, I went for an upgrade today - which went wrong. I basically installed again from source and tried to install on top of old. Now there seems to be dependency problems and I get errors about libMagick.so.10 - but suspect it's a bit more complicated than one missing library.

The

./configure
make
make install

process generated me some 1000 lines of output, which for most part is like gibberish to me (yes it includes several warnings). Alabanza offers to "have a look" for 150$/hour...nice!

Caygill
Nothing better to do.
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 3:20 pm

Post by Caygill » Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:52 pm

Got it fixed myself, installed a slightly older build, 6.2.3 (ImageMagick-6.2.3-6.tar.gz), the oldest without these serious flaws that prompted me to update. It went trough alright.

User avatar
De1MastR
Nothing better to do.
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:03 pm

We love copermine...

Post by De1MastR » Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:23 am

I as building a control panel installer for it as a value added service for my clients.

As for installing ImageMagic I just want to say 2 things.

1) Alabanza supports cpan (if you don't know what that is. it is like Yum or apget for Perl modules) look it up. it installs easy.

2) If you install locally you need to have a add the "use lib" line into your perl programs to have the local module directory added to the @INC array.
My .02 and 1/2
Thomas
ONEKO Internet Success Solutions

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest