Can you recommend a new NOC?

Get answers here.

Moderators: BBear, theunknownhost, flaguy

Post Reply
User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by Arf » Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:50 pm

I have a cheap backup server at LW that I'm very happy with. But it's not off site. I don't need it to be managed.

Processor: AMD Athlon 5000 X2 Dual Core (or higher)
RAM: 2GB DDR3 SDRAM (or more)
HD1: 2 x 1TB SATA / Hardware Raid 1
OS: Linux OS (+CentOs 6 - 64Bit)
ControlPanel: No Control Panel - Unmanaged
PublicIPAddresses: 1 Public IP Address
Bandwidth: 1 TB Outbound + 5 TB Inbound Bandwidth (+100M Uplink Port)

Suggestions? Please, recommend places that you have confidence in yourself.

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
theunknownhost
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 2713
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 1:05 pm

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by theunknownhost » Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:23 pm

iweb.com

they've been great

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by Arf » Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:07 pm

that looks exactly like what I'm looking for. Just a cheap server with lots of disk space and BW. The only minor drawback is it's in Canada.

Also, Paul, you were supposed to call me.

User avatar
Sapphyre
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 3337
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 2:50 am
Location: Canada

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by Sapphyre » Thu Apr 24, 2014 6:20 pm

Arf wrote:The only minor drawback is it's in Canada.
What's that mean, eh ?
It's a crested auklet

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by Arf » Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:04 am

Sapphyre wrote:
Arf wrote:The only minor drawback is it's in Canada.
What's that mean, eh ?
Due to the political policies of things like the US and CA version of the Patriot Act, there's some folks who would prefer not to have their data crossing the boarder (in either direction). Personally, it's not an issue for me. In fact, I've signed up for a server up there in the great white north.

User avatar
gvard
Nothing better to do.
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 9:06 pm
Location: Alimos, GREECE
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by gvard » Sun May 11, 2014 7:53 pm

Hello,
Arf wrote: Due to the political policies of things like the US and CA version of the Patriot Act, there's some folks who would prefer not to have their data crossing the boarder (in either direction).
That's too bad, because I was going to redirect you to www.hetzner.de/en :(

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by Arf » Sun May 11, 2014 10:48 pm

I got exactly what I need from iWeb. An unmanaged, no control panel, 1TB RAID 1 server with gobs of bandwidth for $90/mo. Now my offsite backup is truly off site. Each of our servers rsync the backup files off site shortly before the cpanel backup begins. This way, I have yesterday's and today's daily backups. And amazingly, I've already needed it once for the first time in years.

nigel
Nothing better to do.
Posts: 342
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by nigel » Mon May 12, 2014 1:43 pm

Nice work, this is one of my next projects too :)

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by Arf » Mon May 12, 2014 4:44 pm

It's fairly easy Nigel (to rsync files off site). If you want the code I'm using, let me know. There are two basic steps.
1) Create a connection between two servers using RSA Keys so you don't need a password. (this used to be black magic for me but now that I've done it a few times, I've got some documentation that makes it easy.
2) Configure and run script on cron. (this is a script I wrote that was inspired by an existing backup script that LW provided)

In total, it takes less than 30 minutes to do the two above steps now. Just fire and forget. It just works.

nigel
Nothing better to do.
Posts: 342
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by nigel » Thu May 15, 2014 11:16 am

How much bandwidth would something like this use? I guess after the first sync, it wouldn't be much?

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by Arf » Thu May 15, 2014 2:22 pm

Each sync is the same since I'm backing up full tar.gz files created by cpanel. So, it comes to about 300 - 400 MBs per day per server which takes about an hour.

nigel
Nothing better to do.
Posts: 342
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by nigel » Thu May 15, 2014 11:00 pm

We have a very small connection to the net with our rack. It is only 50Mbit. Bandwidth is very expensive in Australia still. I got a good deal but it can cost $20 - $25 per Mbit!

I think running rsync out of our connection would probably flood that connection.

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by Arf » Fri May 16, 2014 4:58 pm

Not necessarily. Use the --bwlimit=KBPS option to limit I/O bandwidth, KBytes per second.

After all, you have about 22 hours to move the data off site. Take your time.

User avatar
newcanada
Hosting Superstar
Posts: 1702
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 8:00 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by newcanada » Thu May 22, 2014 10:07 pm

Would anyone *not* use Amazon for a backup solution, and if not, why?

User avatar
Arf
Official Test Penquin
Posts: 9103
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2002 12:00 am
Location: IDAHO, USA
Contact:

Re: Can you recommend a new NOC?

Post by Arf » Sat May 24, 2014 6:17 pm

Because I don't have the SSH interface my backup program needs, and cost.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest